

Minutes of the meeting of Parishioners to elect Church Wardens to be held on Sunday 26th May 2024

Chair Revd Andrew Dand

- Apologies for absence
 Jo Burley, Margaret Kirkby, Mervat Hepper, William Hepper, Moira Rayner
- Minutes of the meeting of Parishioners held on Sunday 14th May 2023
 Theses were agreed as an accurate record of the meeting. Proposed Gareth Bevan seconded John Hennessy
- Matters arising if any
 There were no matters arising.
- Election of Church Wardens

Thanks were expressed to Tim Barnes at the end of his 6 years as a church warden which included the time of the pandemic. Tim has led on welcoming and other work behind the scenes.

There were 2 nominations – Gareth Bevan and Helen White. Both were duly elected.

Any other business

There is a need to grow the team by including a deputy warden to help support the wider work. Adam Bush has accepted to join as deputy warden this year.

Minutes of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM) held on Sunday 26th May 2024

Chair: Revd Andrew Dand

- Apologies for absence as above
- Minutes of the APCM held on 14th May 2023

These were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting. Proposed Gareth Bevan seconded John Hennessy

Matters arising

There were no matters arising

Presentation of the Annual report

Note this is for the calendar year i.e. January to December 2023 so does not reflect the last 5 months

- We have had a continued year of growth. Quarter 1 attendance was 14.5% up vs 2022 (and is 19% up from pre pandemic)
- We spent 2022 rebuilding after the pandemic and last year we consolidated this particularly in our discipleship and our under 16s. We now have creche and junior church every week and a youth group every 2 weeks.
- In 2023 we held a confirmation service and admitted children into communion.
- We also welcomed Alison Ingram as our ordinand.
- The Pantomime had record ticket sales. This is the first place some encounter St Mary's
- This all sits alongside long running ministries.

The data includes the online service. There are usually about 50 online and 100 in church.

We have supported the Grove Community (on the Gurnell Estate) financially for over 2 years. We give them £2,500 a year which is agreed until the end of 2024. They started a church about a year ago. We have not had the resources to support them in any other way. People can contact Andrew if they feel called to help with this.

Leadership from the PCC as to how to go about expanding areas of outreach would be helpful. For example we started a 'Warm Space' which has evolved into 'Coffee and Cake'. Ideas for other schemes would be welcome.

• Presentation of Electoral Roll – 140

Next year the preparation of new church electoral rolls takes place, which means that everyone must come off the roll and re-apply.

Treasurer's report for the year ending 31st December 2023

This report is a chance to look back on last year.

The PCC approved the accounts to go to the Independent Examiner at the January meeting.

- Income was £183k in 2023 vs £153k 2022. This is in part due to increased giving which has occurred even in these difficult times financially.
 - Thanks go to Susan Powrie for her work in getting the hall rentals up by £6k.
 - We had a legacy of £2k during the year and also grants from Ealing Council £7.5k to replace the boilers and £1.5k for warm spaces.
 - We had £7.5k from the Diocese for the professional fees needed for the stonework and £2k from the Deanery Mission fund for the digital Manager.

- Our expenditure of £191k was a lot higher than £143k in 2022. This is mainly due to the £7k increase in energy bills and the £34k needed for the tower stonework remedial works.
 This year we have had to commission a full survey of the church which cost £12k. The Diocese has granted us that money. Surveyors can then assess the amount of work needing to be done.
- We had an overall deficit of £7.4k vs surplus of £10k last year.
- Our Common Fund payment to the Diocese was £66k last year, the same as 2022. For 2024 we are paying £70k.
 - Next year the Diocese will be suggesting an amount to us rather than us giving them an offer. Parishes should pay £99k to cover all costs. The Diocese are using their reserves now to make up the difference.
- The general fund and hall surplus is down from 2022. Higher energy costs have made a difference.
- Every year the Hobbayne charity give us £7.5k for maintenance of the bells and the fabric of the church so this is kept separate. The fabric fund was used for the tower repairs.
- We retain a reserve of £30k as expected by the Charity Commission, which is enough for three months spending.
- The hall fund stands at £22k. Quite a bit of work has been done at the hall (including new curtains next week).
- Our funds in the bank are £76,722.
- We are making good progress on our ECO initiative. The lights at the hall are now all LED and have cut the costs by 50%. The boilers have been replaced and pipes lagged so gas use is down by 34%.
- The church is more of a challenge. The Parish room lights have also been changed to LED.
- Chris thanked Derek Stoddart, Mervat Hepper, Yvonne Johnson and Helen White for their work, the
 Hobbayne Trustees for their support and Neil Davis and John Hennessy for their help with ensuring
 our insurances are optimal.

Chris was thanked for all the work he has undertaken to secure the grants.

• Appointment of Independent Examiner

We appointed Kevin Ogilvie of Charity Bookkeeping and Examination Services 4 years ago and he is willing to carry on. Proposed by Andrew Dand and seconded by Maria Barnes. All in agreement.

• Election of PCC members

There were 3 nominations – Beryl Bevan, Phil Phelan (standing for second 3 year term) and Leslie Schroeder.

No election was necessary and they were duly elected.

Edsel Jodhan continues as our Deanery Synod rep.

Noting of sides-persons

Camille Adams; Nicholas Amarteifio; Kunle Babalola; Beryl Bevan; Kathy Broomfield; Adam Bush; Carol Collison; Mark Cosstick; Darren Flynn; Sally Jackson; Edsel Jodhan; Rachel Jones; Phil Phelan; David Simmons; David Whitestone

PCC members during 2023

Andrew Dand (chair) Camille Adams, Beryl Bevan (until May 2023), Kate Bush (from May 2023) Chris Cosstick, Neil Davies, Anna Fernandes (from May 2023) Hannah Foxcroft, John Hennessy, Edsel Jodhan, Lydia Martin (from May 2023) Phil Phelan, Frances Scott (until April 2023) Dave Sebuyira, Helen White

Ex officio: Andrew Dand; Tim Barnes; Gareth Bevan; Susy Dand

Co-opted: Helen Cosstick; Beryl Bevan (from May 2023)

Standing Committee during 2023

Camille Adams, Andrew Dand, Tim Barnes, Beryl Bevan, Gareth Bevan, Chris Cosstick